jump to navigation

The question of faith June 11, 2009

Posted by walnutsrice in lessons learnt.
trackback

Science tells me God must exist. My mind tells me I will never understand God. My heart tells me I am not meant to.

::

Camerlango: Professor Langdon, do you believe in God?

Professor Langdon: Well, I want to believe. Its not easy. Having faith requires leaps of faith, cerebral acceptance of miracles …”

Camerlango: I did not ask you what man says about God. I asked if you believe in God.

Professor Langdon: Faith is a gift..that I have yet to receive.

::

I still think faith is a gift that was given, but only because I sought it. This is the interesting bit about faith. Most gifts are given without asking – but somehow faith doesn’t come to those who don’t search for it. Alongside faith, I did not ask for the understanding of  God, because I think if i had to understand God thoroughly before having faith, I may never believe.

If you ask me if I fully agree with what the bible says, my answer is no. I shall not say what they are. However what I disagree with is independent of my belief in God.  Maybe because I don’t agree with everything said in the bible, I find it unrealistic that one can accept the entire truth. without questioning.

The circular argument is this. If God is flawless, then the truth must be perfect. If the truth isn’t perfect, then God is flawed?

Comments»

1. Zee - June 11, 2009

but perfect in relation to whom? God or man?

2. walnutsrice - June 11, 2009

good question. i don’t know really. it is one of those questions that goes round in my head and i still have no answer


Leave a Reply

