jump to navigation

music for the soul August 5, 2009

Posted by walnutsrice in favourite items, in clarity.
trackback

I was packing my stack of cds today, and realise I listen to a range of music. I think taste in music changes with age. I grew up on classical music and New Age Classical – Kitaro, Kevin Kern, Yanni. In my teens, I briefly enjoyed pop, and very quickly dropped it for New Age Classical. In the last two years, it has been quite permanently been jazz, Bossa Nova, and New Age Classical, with a dash of classic rock thrown in. Guns and Roses, Bon Jovi (any of his albums up to Its My Life). I have recently been hooked to the High Society cds, in-house compilations from That Cd Shop, particularly Shanghai Jazz, Shanghai Diva and Passion.

phantom of the opera

Yanni Live at The Acropolis is a fantastic introduction to his music.  I have been listening to him since 12 and i still think this is timeless. Recently, I have also begun to like Lang Lang – some pianists play long string of keys that doesn’t seem to make much sense but for his, there was a definite progression in the ‘story’ of this music and space for emotions to follow along.

yanni_Live at the Acropolis

lang-lang-adidas-originals-gazelle-1

 what music do others listen to?

Comments»

1. gj - August 11, 2009

shanghai jazz is damn good la! and we shld meet up for coffee you.

walnutsrice - August 11, 2009

yes i agree. we should meet up soon. any new discovery?

2. px - November 21, 2009

can u pack my corrine may cd back into ur bag 2 return pls……..

walnutsrice - November 25, 2009

yes yes. thing is i have 4 corrine may cds so which one is yours???

3. unefilleelegante - January 24, 2011

Would you like to exchange and share collections? I have several high society collections too– msg me at grace_115@hotmail.com 🙂


Leave a Reply

